Significance of Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam

Significance of Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam

Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam is one of the four peetams established by Sri Adi Sankaracharya to preserve and propagate Sanathana Dharma and Advaitha Vedanta. Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam is located on the banks of the Tunga River in Sringeri in the Chikmagalur district in Karnataka, India. The Chaturamnaya Peetams are Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam (Karnataka) in the South, Dvaraka Sarada Peetam (Gujarat) in the West, Puri Govardhana Peetaṃ (Odisha) in the East and Badri Jyotish peetaṃ (Uttarakhand) in the North. The significance of Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam is explained in this article.

As per the legend, Sri Adi Shankaracharya during his travel across India, saw a snake unveiling its hood to protect a pregnant frog from the hot sun on the bank of the river Tunga in Sringeri. Witnessing the non-violence among natural predators, Sri Adi Shankaracharya decided to establish his first Peetham in Sringeri. 

Book poojas and homams at home online with experienced priests

The Sringeri mutt includes two major temples. One temple is dedicated to Lord Siva called the Vidya Shankara temple, the other temple to Goddess Saraswati and is called the Sharada Amba temple. The earliest versions of the Lord Siva temple and goddess Saraswati temples were built in the 14th century, 15th-century respectively.

The outer walls of the Lord Siva temple have large panels at right angles to each other and these show the major gods and goddesses of Shaivism, Vaishnavism, Shaktism, Saurism (Surya), and Ganapatya (Ganesha) traditions of Hinduism. The temple has a lingam, the southern side of the temple features Brahma-Sarawati, the western side Vishnu-Lakshmi, and the northern side Shiva-Parvati. Sringeri’s annual Navaratri festival celebrations and chariot festival held in February or March every year are celebrated in a grand manner.

For more information, please visit the official website of Sri Sringeri Sharada Peetam

The Sringeri Sharada Peetam has a network of branches in India. Some of them include peetams in Varanasi, Haridwar, Hyderabad, Nasik, Gaya, Mysore, Madurai, Chennai, Kanchipuram, Tirupathi, Coimbatore, Rameshwaram, Kalady, Ramnad, and Bengaluru. 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!